THE CHARTER TRUSTEES FOR POOLE

Minutes of the Meeting held on 06 June 2023 at 4.00 pm

Present:-

Cllr T Trent – Mayor – Deputy Mayor

Present: Cllr J Bagwell (Deputy Mayor), Cllr S Aitkenhead, Cllr M Andrews, Cllr D Brown, Cllr R Burton, Cllr J J Butt, Cllr A Chapmanlaw, Cllr J Clements, Cllr P Cooper, Cllr M Earl, Cllr M Gillett, Cllr C Goodall, Cllr A Hadley, Cllr E Harman, Cllr M Howell, Cllr M Le Poidevin, Cllr S Mackrow, Cllr R Maidment, Cllr C Matthews, Cllr S Moore, Cllr Dr F Rice, Cllr P Sidaway, Cllr P Slade, Cllr V Slade, Cllr O Walters and Cllr C Weight

Also in Mike Brooke, Sheriff of Poole attendance:

1. <u>Apologies</u>

Apologies were received from Councillors Beesley, Broadhead, Challinor, d'Orton Gibson, Haines, and Miles.

2. <u>Declarations of Interests</u>

The Honorary Clerk reported that no declarations of interest had been received for this meeting.

3. Charter Mayor's Report

The Mayor highlighted key events that had taken place since the last meeting, including local elections, the Coronation Weekend, a service for celebration of the new King, and the presentation of the Mayor's awards.

4. <u>Election of Charter Mayor</u>

Nominations for the position of Charter Mayor for 2023-24 were received for Councillors Bagwell and Clements.

The suspension of Standing Order 13(i) and a vote by secret ballot was moved and seconded, and was carried as follows:

For: 26 Against: 0 Abstention: 1

The election of Charter Mayor was conducted by secret ballot, with results as follows:

For Cllr Clements: 23

For Cllr Bagwell: 2 Abstentions: 2

RESOLVED: that Councillor Jo Clements be elected Charter Mayor for the ensuing Municipal Year 2023/24.

The Mayor made and signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office and took the Chair.

She reported that John Butterworth would be her Consort for the ensuing municipal year.

5. <u>Election of Deputy Charter Mayor</u>

RESOLVED: that Councillor Tony Trent be elected Deputy Charter Mayor for the ensuing Municipal Year 2023/24.

The Deputy Mayor made and signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

The Deputy Mayor confirmed that his wife, Ann Trent, would be Deputy Mayoress for the municipal year.

Voting: Unanimous

6. <u>Election of the Sheriff of Poole</u>

RESOLVED: that Councillor Pete Miles be elected Sheriff of Poole for the ensuing Municipal Year 2023/24.

Voting: Unanimous

7. <u>Appointment of one representative and substitute to the Association for</u> <u>Charter Trustee Towns (ACTT)</u>

RESOLVED: that Councillor Tony Trent be appointed as a representative to the Association of Charter Trustees, with Councillor Marion Le Poidevin as his substitute for the ensuing Municipal Year 2023/24.

Voting: Unanimous

8. <u>Appointment of Two Budget Signatories</u>

RESOLVED: that Councillors David Brown and Peter Cooper be appointed as budget signatories for the ensuing Municipal Year 2023/24.

Voting: Unanimous

9. <u>Appointment of a Charter Trustee to undertake Bank Statement</u> <u>Verifications</u>

RESOLVED: that Councillor May Haines be appointed to undertake the Bank Statement verification role.

Voting: Unanimous

10. <u>Calendar of Meetings 2023-24</u>

RESOLVED: that the following calendar of meetings for the Charter Trustees be agreed:

26 June 2023 at 5pm 17 October 2023 at 5pm 24 January 2024 at 5pm 17 May 2024 at 11am Voting: Unanimous

The meeting ended at 5.14 pm

MAYOR